Wheels, Brakes, Tires and Suspension Open discussion for tires/rims/lowering springs/brakes etc...

Winter tires - my journey

Old 11-04-2012, 04:01 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Winter tires - my journey

I just mounted a set of new winter wheels on my '06 coupe and thought I would share my experience. I did a lot of research and didn't find as much direction on winter fitting as I liked so it is my hope that this post will be a godsend for those owners who have made the supremely irresponsible pact with Satan to drive their queen through the deleterious void of winter and a have torn out most of their remaining hair trying to decide on how to make this next small fortune investment in this awesome penismobile.

This is my first year with this car and I bought the coupe intending to run in winter. Not the best choice for the season of course, but I fell in love with the Xfire and I wanted to drive it and save my 88MR2 SC from the winter salt. I didn't not want to drive some crappy beater and deal with the logistics of owning yet another vehicle. Lest you think I am a insensitive *******, I do own a 99 Jeep Cherokee to get me through the really rough stuff - that is if Minnesota ever decides to back away from becoming a Kansasian climatological perti dish.

The Xrossfire came with Yokohama Advan S-4s and I found that these performed well in the summer. However, I got the message that these could be trouble here in MN in snow especially since I have a steep curvy hill to climb every morning.

My search for winter tire package included quotes from 3 local shops and Tire Rack. These ranged from $1450 to $2200. Tires that made it to my final list were:

Dunlop WSport 4D
Bridgestone Blizzack W70 and LM60
Goodyear Ultra Grip P2
Michelin Pilkot Alpin PA4
Nokian WRG2 and Hakka R

Budget Wheels were:
Ultrawheels Alpine 402
Sport Edition ST3

I went by the manual and tire rack recommendation for 225/40R18 all round.