All Crossfires A place to discuss any model of the Crossfire.

who's done this? ELECTRICIANS ASSEMBLE!!!

Old 06-09-2015, 02:48 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default who's done this? ELECTRICIANS ASSEMBLE!!!

I am by NO MEANS a professional electrician. I just know the basics- a hot/a gound. I was still up for the challenge in hopes to be a pioneer for someone that might want to do the same thing. But after troubleshooting for 7 straight hours, this is my official cry for help haha. Since i painted my rear blinker lenses red to match the rear running lights, i wanted to have my blinkers come on as a constant light when i turn my lights on to have quad tail lights. but then still function as a blinker like normal when used. Today was my first time i ever experimented with rectifier diodes. I used 5amp 60v diodes assuming that they are sharing load. I put 2 pics below of methods ive tried (although ive tried about 10+ different ways). The farthest ive gotten so far is:

-i turn lights on and both rear lights come on as planned. But turn signal indicator on dash is on solid. And when i use turn signal the rear doesnt blink but the front blinks rapidly...

-when i use turn signal while lights are off, the blinker AND running light blink together...

-blinker and running light both light up together as planned. Indicator on dash working normally but ONLY headlight blinker works...

Out of all the different connections ive tried, i always get 1 of those 3 scenarios. I guess basically in a nutshell, when (both) lights are on it overpowers rear blinker, but when both lights are switched off both lights blink together when turn signal is used. Somehow the blinker is defying the rules a diode (in my case)

Attached Images
File Type: jpg
20150609_094552.jpg (1.63 MB, 29 views)
20150609_135503.jpg (1.86 MB, 27 views)
Old 06-09-2015, 02:55 PM
Default Re: whos done this? ELECTRICIANS ASSEMBLE!!!

Do i need to add a resistor nefore each diode?

Old 06-09-2015, 08:45 PM