All Crossfires A place to discuss any model of the Crossfire.

What did you do to your Crossfire today?

Old 11-18-2021, 03:31 PM
Received 39 Likes on 35 Posts
Default Re: What did you do to your Crossfire today?

S D Crossfire,
Which kit did you use? Sounds like this is just what I need.

Old 11-18-2021, 04:34 PM
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Originally Posted by SD Crossfire
I just turned off my TPMS light and now use a much better aftermarket TPMS that has very accurate sensors mounted on the valve stems as a cap replacement. The head unit is small and solar powered, shows not only the current pressure in each tire, but the temps as well. You can also set alarm/warning for both pressures and temps to whatever level you want.

The whole kit cost $50 and took 3 minutes to install and gives so much better information than the factory TPMS.
Originally Posted by exparamedic
S D Crossfire,
I've been using the aftermarket external TPMS for several years without any problems or failures. I just like to see real-time numbers such as tire pressure...rather than just wait for a failure alarm to go off. But these kits have failure alarms built-in, too, to alert you if you don't look at the numbers as often as I do....
The batteries in the cap-sensors last at least a year. I replaced the cap-sensor batteries in the first kit I bought after a year had elapsed even though they were all still working.
As far a stealing the cap-sensors, my Crossfire is always garaged and I'm rarely parking it anywhere for any substantial amount of time. Plus, I'm not sure that the sensor-caps are universal. So, there's no reason to steal them.